ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

About

The mission of the Environmental Commission is to advise the Environment & Sustainability Council Committee on issues related to the environment and sustainability, as well as to provide guidance on the implementation of the Comprehensive Environmental & Climate Action Plan (CECAP). The Commission will support equitable and effective action to resolve environmental issues as they arise.

Environmental Commission

Comisión Ambiental

Meetings

Meeting Calendar

Calendario de reuniones

Next Regular Meeting

When: October 12, 2022, 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

Where: City Hall 6ES & WebEx Virtual Access (Join Here)

Register to Speak

Speakers must register by 5:30p.m. Tuesday, October 11, 2022. Register by filling out this speaker registration form.

Questions? Contact Erin Diehl at erin.diehl@dallas.gov; 214-671-8522.

Accommodations

The City of Dallas will make “Reasonable Accommodations” to programs and/or other related activities to ensure any and all residents have access to services and resources to ensure an equitable and inclusive meeting. Anyone requiring auxiliary aid, service, and/or translation to fully participate in the meeting should notify the Office of Environmental Quality & Sustainability by calling 214-671-8522, emailing erin.diehl@dallas.gov, or TTY (800) 735-2989, forty-eight (48) hours prior to the scheduled meeting.

Meeting Materials

December 17, 2021

Meeting Recording

Minutes

March 9, 2022

Meeting Recording

Minutes

June 8, 2022

Meeting Recording

Minutes

September 14, 2022

Meeting Recording

Agenda

 

 

January 14, 2022

Meeting Recording

Minutes

April 13, 2022

Meeting Recording

Minutes (revised)

July 9, 2022 (Strategic Planning Session)

Minutes

Report

 

 

February 11, 2022

Meeting Recording

Minutes

May 16, 2022 (rescheduled)

Meeting Recording

Minutes

August 10, 2022

Meeting Recording

Minutes

Members

The Environmental Commission was created by Ordinance No. 21847 that was approved by the City Council on April 28, 2021. It is composed of 15 voting members of the general public and eight non-voting technical expert members. Each city council member appoints one voting member to the commission. The mayor appoints the commission chair, and the full council appoints the vice-chair. The non-voting technical experts are appointed by the full council from each sector of the CECAP. Two of the general public members must have public health experience. All other general public members must have a minimum of two years of environmental experience or a minimum of two years of neighborhood environmental advocacy.

Voting Members

 

District 1: Philip Hiatt Haigh  philip.hiatthaigh@dallas.gov

District 2: Mark Wootton

mark.wootton@dallas.gov

District 3: Vacant

District 4: Candace Thompson

District 5: Tracy Wallace

District 6: Esther Villarreal (Vice Chair)

esther.villarreal@dallas.gov

District 7: Temeckia Derrough

temeckia.derrough@dallas.gov

District 8: Renee Roberson

renee.roberson@dallas.gov

District 9: Kathryn Bazan (Chair)

kathryn.bazan@dallas.gov

District 10: Andrew Siegel

District 11: Dr. Colleen Murray

colleen.murray@dallas.gov

District 12: Dr. Barry Lachman


District 13: Charlie Dankert

charlie.dankert@dallas.gov

District 14: Paula Day

paula.day@dallas.gov

District 15 (Mayor): Julie Hiromoto

Technical Panel Members


Buildings: Alan Hoffmann

Energy: Michael Martin

michael.martin3@dallas.gov

Transportation: Dr. Maria Boccalandro

 

Zero Waste: Raj Daniels

 

Water Resources: David Marquis

 

Green Space: Vacant

 

Food & Urban Agriculture: Cristian Camacho

cristian.camacho@dallas.gov

 

Air Quality: Rita Beving

Environmental Health Committee

 

Candace Thompson (Chair)

Renee Roberson (Vice Chair)

Dr. Folashade Afolabi

Dr. Sarah Ashitey

Haddijatou Bayo, P.E.