The Environmental Commission is forming an Environmental Health Committee. The function of the committee is to advise the Environmental Commission on environmental health issues as they arise, including, but not limited to potential health aspects of environmental policy recommendations from the commission to the city council, as well as addressing community public health concerns with an identified environmental origin. Members will be appointed by the chairman of the commission to an initial appointment set to expire on June 14, 2023.

For more information and to apply to serve on the Committee, click here.

The Environmental Commission advises the City Council on issues related to the environment, sustainability, and the implementation of the Comprehensive Environmental & Climate Action Plan (CECAP). The commission will support equitable and effective action as appropriate to resolve environmental issues as they arise.


The next meeting of the Environmental Commission will be on February 11, 2022 from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. If you would like to register to speak during the meeting, contact Erin Diehl at erin.diehl@dallascityhall.com by 5:00p.m. February 10th and provide the following information: 

  • Name

  • Address

  • Phone number

  • Agenda item/topic you will speak on

  • Whether you will attend virtually or in-person 


A recording of the meeting will be posted on the City’s website.


The Environmental Commission was created by Ordinance No. 21847 on April 22, 2021. It is composed of 15 voting members of the general public and eight non-voting technical expert members. Each city council member appoints one voting member to the commission. The mayor appoints the commission chair, and the full council appoints the vice-chair. The non-voting technical experts are appointed by the full council from each sector of the CECAP. Two of the general public members must have public health experience. All other general public members must have a minimum of two years of environmental experience or a minimum of two years of neighborhood environmental advocacy.

Voting Members

Chair: Kathryn Bazan

Vice-Chair: TBD

District 1: Philip Hiatt Haigh

District 2: Mark Wootton

District 3: Vacant

District 4: Candace Thompson

District 5: Tracy Wallace

District 6: Esther Villarreal

District 7: Temeckia Derrough

District 8: Renee Roberson

District 9: Kathryn Bazan

District 10: Vacant

District 11: Dr. Colleen Murray

District 12: Vacant
District 13: Charles Dankert

District 14: Paula Day

District 15 (Mayor): Vacant

Technical Panel

Buildings: Alan Hoffmann

Energy: Michael Martin

Transportation: Dr. Maria Boccalandro

Zero Waste: Raj Daniels

Water Resources: David Marquis

Green Space: Micah Pace

Food & Urban Agriculture: Cristian Camacho

Air Quality: Rita Beving

Meeting Recordings:

December 17, 2021

January 14, 2022